Record numbers run on peninsula for Bere Pen 10k

By Contributor in Athletics

THERE was a record entry with 162 athletes taking part in the 2017 Bere Pen 10 on Saturday — a 10k road race hosted by Bere Alston Trekkers (BATs).

The event is a scenic ‘three down, three up’ road run around the Bere Peninsula, out from Bere Alston and winding its way down to Weir Quay, which provides a fast start for all participants. Once runners reach the flat along the banks of the Tamar and are able to enjoy the views across to Cornwall; it is then time to start the uphill climbs to re-enter the village for a fast downhill to the finish. Following the thunder storms of the early hours of Saturday morning, the weather late Saturday made for near perfect running and spectating conditions.

Local triathlete Nathan Newton led the field from the start with Chris Rimmer of Tavistock Run Project in close pursuit. Chris took the lead in the first mile and went on to lead the event and finish first ahead of Nathan, with Steve Fletcher (Plymouth Harriers) in third place. Rachael Malthouse (TRP) was first lady followed by Nicola Noble (Plymouth Harriers) and Tracey Oxborough (Tavistock AC).

The organisation of the event provided an example of the dedication and hard work of the BATs who all pulled together as a team behind race director Derek Hicks to make the event possible. Those BATS who did not run in the event were busy behind the scenes with the organisation and running of the event, marshalling and baking cakes. BATs thanked all of the individuals and organisations that were involved and supported this year’s Bere Pen 10 to make it a success, in particular Sally Dunn for starting the race, Tavistock Athletics Club for providing the catering, Dartmoor Search and Rescue Team (Plymouth) for providing First Aid cover, Bere Alston Brownies for providing the water stations, the local running clubs for supporting the event, the Armada network for the loan of timing equipment and other equipment, the residents of Bere Alston for their patience and consideration and most importantly to all of the individual runners who participated.

Category prizes were awarded as follows:

Ladies: Lucie Prior FU20 1.02.33, Laura Newton FS 52.44, Rachael Malthouse TRP FV30 (and first lady) 44.56, Sarah Robinson Plymouth Musketeers FV40 50.46, Tracey Oxborough Tavistock AC FV50 49.02 and Mary Ostle Plymouth Harriers FV60 59.06

Men: Steve Fletcher Plymouth Harriers MS 37.59, Chris Rimmer TRP MV30 (and first overall) 34.54, David Beckenkrager Plymouth Harriers MV40 39.07, Martin Exley-Deane Tavistock AC MV50 42.03 and David Twine Tavistock AC MV60 47.08.

Nathan Newton MV30 was second overall (in a time of 37.42 – a course PB) and was awarded first local unaffiliated runner.

Patricia Crabbe from Yelverton – a member of Storm Plymouth — was awarded the consolation prize of the most chocolicious ‘to die for’ chocolate cake.

Team BATs times were as follows: Peter Kenvin 57.04, Stephen Hill 57.27, Ralph Elmes 1.01.32, Kate Medhurst 1.03.53, Samantha Harte-Latremouille 1.04.19, Jon McGurk 1.08.36, Colin and Nikki Putt 01.09.36.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C